top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrew Phelps

A Word About Quarantine

A little late, but better late than never! I wanted to say a few words about what I learned during my extra-long quarantine. Due to circumstances, mine ended up being a little longer than the usual 14 days, but I really learned a lot from my time alone. While I did miss grabbing coffee from Starbucks or hanging out with friends for hours on end, I did learn the benefits of rest and reflection. I had time to sit on my couch and soak up the amazing view right outside my window, which is incredible both during the day and at night. I had time to take a nap in the middle of the day, something I have not gotten to do in a long time. I had time to read a couple of books! I love reading, but it's one of the first things to go when my schedule fills up. (If you are looking for book recommendations, I have a couple!) I had time to cook! During my quarantine I made some good food including nachos, pasta and meatballs, chicken and rice, and avocado toast just to name a few. I listened to music and caught up on what was new. I even found a couple of now favorite songs. I had time to sit in the presence of the Lord and learn what He had to offer, which was a lot (maybe a post for another time). I had time to go for walks, luckily some of those were with people! I often walked to the lakeshore just to listen to the crashing waves or observe the glass-like water. That has been a little harder lately since most of the shore has frozen over, but even that has it's own unique beauty. It's even an incredible scene at night with all the lights from the buildings projecting an orange haze into the sky which quickly fades into an inky blackness over the water. One thing I notice on these trips is the unique quietness of the lakeshore. The sounds of the city become a little fainter; the horns, sirens, and engines hushed by the sand, water, and snow. It was a long time in quarantine, but I am thankful for the time I had to try some new things and also catch up on some things I had not done in a while.


I have to say I do miss the peace of quarantine, the hours of getting to lay on the couch sipping a cup of coffee, watching an excessive amount of Glee or scrolling through TikTok for way longer than I planned. It taught me the value of rest and taking a break and I will remember that moving forward, but I am so ready for what is next. Since being out I have already done so much, but I know there is still so much more to experience!


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page